Radio station plays what they want

88.6Fm2_thumb1Please excuse the lack of updates over the last couple of days as I was away on vacation.

Now that I’m back into the swing of things, I stumbled across these ads for a radio station in Austria and thought I’d share them.

We Play What We Want
Client: 88.6 FM
Agency: FCB, Austria

The concept is just a simple text treatment, but it works. Nothing more needs to be said. I prefer the first one over the second though, as it is more playful. It also reminds me of the “No Nickelback Guarantee” that Calgary radio station x92.9 has. It’s not original, but I love when radio stations take a stand against their overly repetitive competitors. Mainstream radio stations have become so cookie-cutter that it is refreshing to see something like the ads above.

What do you think? Have you come across any other radio stations that have “banned” artists because of their constantly being overplayed on every other station? Post below.

– danvertising

Share

2 Responses to Radio station plays what they want

  1. Matt says:

    What’s wrong with Phil Collins? He writes great melodies. Who doesn’t air drum to, “In the Air Tonight.”

    I’d prefer the slogan, “We play what you want.”

    The no Nickleback guarantee is amazing though.

  2. danvertising says:

    I wouldn’t say there’s anything wrong with Phil Collins. And even Mike Tyson air drums to “In the Air Tonight”.

    It must be more about how other radio stations have just overplayed him.

    Like I love Neil Young. But Chez106 almost ruined it for me because they overplay him in their rotation. Same goes for AC-DC and the Stones.

Leave a Reply

